Vistra Insights

瑞致达发布全新调研报告,深入洞察财富与慈善事业的发展趋势

瑞致达今日发布其首份关于私人财富与慈善事业展望的全球调研报告。

该报告名为《2021 全球私人财富与慈善事业展望:后疫情时代的发展趋势》,汇集了全球 225 位高净值与超高净值人士的观点,并分享了他们在财富规划方面的见解和做法。

这项调研于 2020 年第三季度开展,当时正值新冠疫情期间,而疫情也对报告所呈现出的多项结果产生了影响。

 “对于各行各业而言,2020 年都是一个重要的分水岭。在私人财富领域,我们看到客户提高了财富配置的多样性,增加了对慈善捐赠的投入,尤其是对健康和环境领域的投入。虽然新冠疫情让许多人认识到生命十分脆弱,但绝大多数受访者仍未看到制定传承计划的重要性。通过发布此份报告,我们希望让人们意识到,财富规划和慈善投资也必须与时俱进。”瑞致达全球私人财富主管 Chris Marquis 表示。

 “同样值得注意的是,在财富规划和慈善投入方面没有放之四海而皆准的方法,正如我们所见,不同的地区其做法也千差万别。事实上,不同的法律制度、宗教、文化,以及当地政府对财富的管控等都会对不同地区的个人该如何管理自己的资产产生影响。

该报告收录了瑞致达各地高管对这类地区差异的认知,并解释说明了造成这类地区差异的原因。

主要调查结果

1.    2020 年的慈善投入有所增加,尤其是健康和环保的项目。

36%的受访者表示自己在 2020 年参与了更多的慈善活动,原因之一便是新冠疫情,而这一现象也在健康和环保项目慈善捐款数额的增长上反映了。未来 12 个月这两大领域将继续位居企业和私人捐款榜首。

此外,捐款方式的灵活性也有所提高,慈善人士的反应速度也进一步加快,他们会迅速对周边事件做出反应,筹集大量善款。慈善事业呈现出从被动转向主动的趋势,而新冠疫情又进一步推动了这一趋势的发展。这一转变趋势同时还体现在受访者对成立基金会的态度变化上,虽然仅有 24% 的受访者着手设立了基金会,但有 57% 的受访者计划在未来一年成立基金会。

2.    不重视传承规划

虽然新冠疫情让我们认识到了生命十分脆弱,也有许多人开始强调制定传承计划的重要性,但对重要性的认识和实际制定计划之间似乎仍有些脱节。只有 52% 的受访者表示已经制定了传承计划,而在最高年龄组(60 岁以上)的受访者中,这一数字也仅上升到 73%,在 40 岁以下年龄组中,这一比例更是仅为 18%。

由此可见,虽然新冠疫情可能为受访者带来了一种短期的紧迫感,但他们对传承计划仍缺乏系统性审查,无法做到反复审视、更新计划。在受访者中,鲜少有人会定期审查传承计划,58% 的受访者表示,他们只在必要的情况下才会临时审查传承计划,另有 22% 的受访者表示自己每五年或更长时间才会审查一次传承计划。只有 1% 的受访者表示自己会每年审查一次,而19%的受访者表示会每两年审查一次。

3.    受疫情影响,在投资决策过程中,人们开始越来越关注环境、社会和治理因素,但环境因素的受重视程度依然较低。

鉴于环境、社会和治理(ESG)投资开始呈上升趋势,以及全球对气候问题的更广泛认识,本次调研还访问了受访者对环境、社会和治理投资的看法。在做出投资决策时,受访者以往最重视的 ESG 因素是社会因素(41%),其次是公司治理(31%),最后是环境因素(28%)。

但自新冠疫情出现以来,ESG 各因素的重要性都大幅提升,61% 的受访者表示自己将更加重视公司治理,51% 的受访者表示会更加重视社会因素,33% 表示会更加重视环境因素。我们发现,相较于其他因素而言,所有受访者对环境因素的重视程度都是最低的,但正如我们在上文中所指出的那样,这与慈善捐赠的关注焦点恰恰相反,对于许多慈善捐赠者而言环境因素才是重中之重。

4.    社交媒体对慈善事业的影响

尽管家人、朋友和顾问在慈善事业上依然拥有较大的影响力,但随着数字化技术的兴起,48% 的受访者表示会使用社交媒体来搜索慈善项目,37% 的受访者会使用网络搜索工具来收集相关信息。毋庸置疑,这一现象可以被认定为是当前时代的产物,同时也可以理解为是完全基于社交媒体网络的众筹模式的延伸。社交媒体的广泛使用让每个人都有机会接触到本来无法遇到的项目,但同时也凸显了对各类慈善活动适当进行尽职调查的重要性。

如果您想深入阅读《2021 全球私人财富与慈善事业展望:后疫情时代的发展趋势》报告,包括各地区的调研结果,请点击此处

 

媒体联系人

企业传讯部主管

 

Stay in the Know with Our Latest Thinking

More Insights

Vistra Insights

New Vistra report reveals key insights into wealth and philanthropy 

Vistra today released its first global research study on private wealth and the future of philanthropy. 

Titled ‘Global Private Wealth and the Future of Philanthropy 2021: Looking Beyond the Covid-19 Pandemic’, the report considers the views of 225 high-net-worth and ultra-high-net-worth individuals across the globe, and reveals key insights and the approach to wealth planning adopted by these individuals. 

This research was conducted amidst the Covid-19 pandemic in the third quarter of 2020 – a context which influenced many of the responses and shifts reflected in the report. 

“2020 has been a watershed year in more ways than one. In the area of private wealth, we have seen clients diversifying their wealth allocation, some of which include an increase in philanthropic contributions, especially in the areas of health and environment. That said, while the coronavirus pandemic has alerted many to the fragility of human life, the importance of succession planning has yet to sink in with the majority of respondents. By launching this report, we hope to heighten awareness of how wealth planning and philanthropic investment must evolve with the times,” said Chris Marquis, Global Head of Private Wealth, Vistra. 

“It’s also worth noting that there is no one-size-fits-all approach to wealth planning and philanthropic engagement, as we’ve seen approaches vary significantly across regions. Indeed, factors such as differing laws, religious and cultural perspectives on charity, as well as government attitudes to wealth, all weigh in on how individuals from different regions choose to manage their assets”, said Chris.   

The report features insights from Vistra leaders around the world into why there were such key differences across the regions.

Headline findings

1.    An increase in philanthropic commitment in 2020, particularly for health and environmental initiatives 

36% of respondents have stated an increase in their philanthropic activities in 2020, which was partly catalysed by the coronavirus pandemic. This is evident from the significant growth in philanthropic contribution to health and environmental initiatives, which look to remain the top beneficiaries of corporate and private donation in the next 12 months. 

In addition, people appear to be more flexible and reactive in their giving – responding quickly to matters happening around them on a large scale. There has been a trend from passive to active philanthropy and the pandemic has accelerated this. This shift is also echoed in how respondents are involved in running a foundation where only 24% were actively involved, but 57% plan to be in the year ahead. 

2.    Lack of urgency for succession planning 

While the pandemic has put our mortality into perspective and many respondents highlighted succession planning as a priority, there seems to be a disconnect between the urgency and actual planning for succession. Just 52% of respondents report having a succession plan in place, and this number only rises to 73% among the highest age group (those over 60), with only 18% in the under 40s age group. 

This may highlight that although Covid-19 may have created a short-term sense of urgency, the survey points to a far less structured approach when it comes to how often succession plans are reviewed and updated. Periodic reviews of succession plans are not common practice, with 58% stating that they only review such plans on an ad hoc / as needed basis and a further 22% only do so every five year or more. Only 1% review it annually and 19% biannually.

3.    With the pandemic, the importance of each ESG element has increased, but environmental continues to remains low on investment considerations

Considering the rise of environmental, social and governance (ESG) investment, alongside a broader awareness of climate issues globally, the survey also examined attitudes towards ESG investment. The element of ESG which was most important when making an investment decision was social (41%), followed by corporate governance (31%) and then environment (28%). 

However, since the pandemic, there has been a major increase in the importance of each element of ESG – 61% put greater importance on corporate governance, 51% on social and 33% on environment. We see that environment features lowest across all respondents – however as we noted above, this is contrary to philanthropic endeavours where environment is a high priority for many.

4.    Social media’s influence on philanthropic efforts 

Although family, friends and advisers have a key influence, with the rise of digitalisation, 48% of the respondents indicate that they use social media to source philanthropic projects and 37% use web searches. The natural inference is that this is simply a result of the times we currently live in, as well as an extension of the crowdfunding model that relies so heavily on social media networks. While it is understandable that the proliferation of social media has opened everyone up to projects that they might not have come across otherwise, it does stress the importance of appropriate due diligence on any philanthropic endeavour.

For a more in-depth look at the ‘Global Private Wealth and the Future of Philanthropy 2021: Looking Beyond the Covid-19 Pandemic’ report, including regional findings, please click here

 

Media Contact
Sylvia Evans, Head of Communications

media.enquiries@vistra.com 

 

Stay in the Know with Our Latest Thinking

More Insights